Health

Alternative Health:Arnica Cream

A little over a year ago my mother-in-law brought home something called Arnica cream. She told us about a friend who used it often on a sprain and shoulder pain and that this woman swore by its beneficial properties. It stayed around our house for awhile before I finally tried it: not on myself but on Will. Being a toddling 18 month old he was bumping his skull into things like it was a religion. To the point where every time my phone rang, I winced a little, preparing for what must be the call from the CSA after receiving a disturbing report from my sons daycare. Poor lad. One day, right after yet another smack to Wills brow, my mother-in-law hurriedly grabbed the arnica cream and had me rub it into his growing red spot. It my surprise, not only did his cries subside quicker, but no bump and bruise ever surfaced. Ever. After this event I began using arnica every time he had an accident and nary did a bump occur. Occasionally we would miss rubbing the cream into the entire sore spot and thus there would be the tiniest odd-shaped bruise remaining in the spot. Wow, this really does work!

Now I thought it simply helped to ease inflammation until the day I had to use it on my own accident. After slamming the back of my head on a shelf (the kind of slam where one becomes a wounded dog, ready to kill anything that comes near it, and you find yourself saying all the swear words you know as loud as you can, even if your kid is standing right there), I waddled over to the drawer and frantically began rubbing the arnica all around my throbbing scalp. Immediately my extreme pain began to melt away, akin to pure aloe gel on a burn, or an epidural. The relief was euphoric.

I’ve told all of my friends with kids plus anyone who politely listens to my blathering about arnica. But seriously people, this stuff is as important to have your medicine cabinet as rubbing alcohol and bandages. Your children will unknowingly love you more for having it, I promise. So below is a little more info on what arnica is and where to get it.

It’s made from a pretty flower! What’s not to love people.

   Arnica cream comes from a planet called Arnica Montana, closely akin to the sunflower. It has been known to be used medicinally since the 15th century. The roots of the planet contain Thymol and arnica gel has been known to ease pain for sufferers of osteoporosis. It can even aide in inflammation of bug bites (mine greatest enemy). It comes in the form of a cream, gel and pellets. However, Arnica CAN BE LETHAL if ingested in too high a quantity so if you find yourself wanting to use the pellets you really should talk to a doctor first.

   Arnica homeopathic’s have become more main stream in the past few years (due, in part, to celebrity popularity) and have become fairly easy to find. It is carried in most natural food stores and sometimes you can find it in your pharmacy. If you don’t have a natural foods store nearby, you could request your pharmacy carry it, OR it is readily available online. You shouldn’t find it to be over the $10 range.

I love this stuff and it is becoming my staple “Happy 1st birthday!” gift. You are welcome parents! Just don’t let it sit in your cabinet and go bad. Once you try it you will be hooked.

1 thought on “Alternative Health:Arnica Cream”

Leave a comment